Some argue that schools should prioritize life skills such as working in teams and solving problems instead of traditional academics. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

On the ground that education is crucial for children, there has been a controversy amongst individuals regarding whether schools should raise the importance of soft skills more than hard skills. While these juveniles need to be taught about academic materials, life skills are considered to be necessary for today’s workplace as well. This essay will elaborate on both opposing ideas and my own opinion in which every institution should value both knowledge equally. The advocates for the schools to prioritize soft skills might look at the overall and deeper perspective. In fact, without soft skills such as working under pressure and time management, it is impossible for someone to deliver their highest potential. Effective communication, for instance, is necessary for a physician to liaise with the parents in choosing the best option of medication for their offspring. On the contrary, students would gain knowledge, which could be used in the future, by learning academic subjects. Schools provide their students with various courses: after studying them, children might discover the subjects they prefer. Besides, by knowing their specialized subjects, students would devote less effort in choosing a suitable career path. From my experience in school, most students who demonstrate a talent and expertise in biology tend to study and work in a biomedical field. In conclusion, I believe that soft skills and hard skills are necessary for humans’ life. Therefore, academies should balance and place the importance in both skills equivalently. Academic knowledge would help people to obtain better career opportunities by guiding individuals to a proper expertise, while life skills would enhance their capabilities to work in their workplace.