Crime is becoming a serious concern. Some believe that more action should be taken to prevent crime. While others feel that little action can be done to stop crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime happens every day, particularly in the large cities such as Bangkok, Thailand. Certain people insist that criminals shall be harshly punished at all cost. Meanwhile, a fewer numbers of people believe that providing education to people who are at risk of committing crime will be more beneficial to the society in the long term. In my perspective, I rather agree with the latter group’s views. For the first group’s opinions, crime depends on individual’s decisions and actions with no consideration of criminals’ economic status, educational level, and surroundings. In their perspectives, individuals might be bad since birth, thus, they committed crime by their own instinct. Therefore, the government must issue law with more violent enforcements to prevent those evil persons to commit crimes in the future. However, the second group realizes relevant factors that cause someone to commit crimes. As mentioned earlier, each potential criminal has common drives, e.g. living in poverty, having lower education, and/or habiting in crowded and poor areas in cities. Thus, they are likely to encourage the authorities and other stakeholders to promote responsible behaviours among those who are at risks. For example, the concerned agencies might create job opportunities for them. They, then, will not involve in any wrongdoings. To sum up, I strongly agree with the latter group that the government including community should offer our hands to those in need. After that, those disadvantaged people can avoid committing crimes and live in a more sustainable way.