Some children spend hours every day on their smartphone. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development

Some children use their smartphones many hours a day because their parents do not have enough time to take care of them; consequently, the parents choose to give their children smartphones. This development can be positive as it enhances learning experience, while it also has drawbacks if children spend too much time on their mobiles. It is undeniable that some parents give their children mobiles because they do not have adequate time to look after their kids. Many fathers and mothers prioritize their jobs and career advancements so that they can earn more money and improve their quality of life. As a result, they spend too much time at work, and let their children play smartphones and learn from them instead. For example, in many Asian countries, people usually work from 9 am to 5 pm, meanwhile, children study only from 7 am to 3 pm. Hence, the parents choose to let their children play smartphone while waiting. Due to the development of smartphones, children have benefited in learning. They can learn more than what are taught in school and they can customize their lessons based on their interests. For instance, Duolingo, an application aiming to teach languages, is an effective tool for children to learn new languages, improving linguistic skills. However, spending too much time on mobiles solely affects negatively on physical health since it blocks children from engaging in outdoor activities. If children are addicted to their smartphones, they tend to do only sedentary activities. Therefore, the time limitation of smartphone usage in children is important. Regarding technological advancements, smartphones have inevitably become a part of everyday life. Children spend hours on their mobiles on a daily basis because their parents do not have enough time to take care of them. Although children can learn many things via phones, using them too much can negatively impact physical health.