The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. Do you agree or disagree?

After the introduction of nuclear weapons in the World War Two time period, nuclear technologies have been studied and developed throughout the years. Additionally, a controversy exists amongst citizens whether the growth of nuclear materials would be constructive or destructive. This essay will elaborate onto both boons and banes of nuclear technology and my own perspective in which the merits of this invention could not outweigh its drawbacks. Initially, nuclear weapons were invented mainly to protect countries against the opposing forces. The hazards of these arms are obvious, for example, the nuclear bombs in which the US has sent to Hiroshima and Nagasaki in Japan: they destroyed these two cities severely, creating a damaging impact on the Japanese government. Therefore, the dangerous effects of nuclear weapons could be one of the major factors to preserve the world’s peace and could prevent World War Three. Despite the benefits of this source of power, the effects in which nuclear power plants do to individuals still remain arguable. Nuclear power factories could dispose of numerous amounts of waste into surrounding aquatic habitats such as rivers or lakes, causing water pollution and destroying the ecosystem. Moreover, the Chernobyl incident is a valid example of how destructive nuclear materials are: after the explosion of a nuclear power plant, the debris and ashes covered most atmosphere of the town and caused both physical and mental issues for humans, as well as the buildings and residents destroyed. In conclusion, the terrifying power of nuclear technologies could be highly detrimental for this world. Before becoming one of the clean energy sources, nuclear inventions had damaged both nature and mankind, the effects could not be reversed and it still horrifies some individuals until the present time.