Plagiarism in academics has become a pressing problem in many countries today. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

Academic plagiarism is becoming more and more serious around the world. There are several reasons that contribute to this phenomenon. To resolve this issue, Educational institutions need to introduce some effective policies. Plagiarism in the academic field can be attributed to some causes, such as lacking ideas during writing, not having enough knowledge of experimental designs, and suffering from promotion and publication pressure. The most possible candidates who violate academic ethics are master's or doctoral students who need to design an experiment and write a thesis or dissertation for their degrees. During this process, they need to spend a long time reviewing diverse journal articles related to their interest. In addition, they also need to learn how to design a sound and innovative experiment. Therefore, If they do not completely follow this procedure or realize relative regulations from academic ethics courses, some of them will make the mistake of plagiarising from other's publications, thereby contributing to serious consequences, such as being retracted from their diploma. In addition to post-graduate students, some researchers also make such mistakes in their careers to earn more publications, because whether they can be promoted will be according to the number of publications and citations of their articles. Moreover, some scholars want to increase their production in this way, which can help them earn more reputation, leading to receiving more and more grants from their government. Therefore, to cope with these problems, the educational system needs to introduce some policies. For example, the university can create a serious curriculum, including academic ethics, journal writing, and experimental methodology. These courses can help not only under-graduated but also post-graduated students establish the literacy of legal research, ranging from reviewing other's journal literature to submitting theirs. After their courses, they will know how to design a robust experiment, report data and reference the information they need in their own article, which will well prevent them from plagiarism. Second, educational institutions can create some policies about the promotion related to research. That is, the reviewers of promotion applications do not just consider the appliers' volume of publications, yet they can replace teaching skills or servicing experiences from this. Even if this idea is introduced in many areas, I think this will become true in the future. In conclusion, although plagiarism more frequently happens in different countries, educational departments can develop relevant policies or regulations, such as introducing academic courses to students or revising the criteria for promotion.