Some university students live with their family while others live away form home because their universities are in different places. Do you think the benefits of living away from home outweigh the disadvantages?

Tertiary education is an integral part of overall development of an individual. It is commonly seen that some students have to leave their home to pursue education at university of their choice. I firmly believe that staying away from home is beneficial for students and the grounds of my perception shall be discussed in this eassay. To begin with, living in university hostels or far from home allows an individual to become independent and responsible. This gives students sense of financial independence. For an instance, as funds are limited they realise importance of money and learn how to spend it adequately. Moreover, they start working part-time to make ends meet. Furthermore, pupils learn to socialise and take decisions independently.  Sometimes, due to family issues pupils are not able to concentrate on their studies wheras staying away from family allows them to divert themselves from such problems and pass with flying colours. To exemplify, a study done in the United States revelaed that divorce rates are very high due to which academic performance of students is affected badly. On the contrary, living away from home sometimes results in home-sickness. Due to which scholars may feel lonely and not able to concentrate on their studies. This could result in mental stress and poor grades. However, these problems could be overcome by making good friends and socialising. To conclude, living outside and independently allows social, intellectual as well as career growth of students. Hence they become more responsible.