It is a good idea for people to continue working in their old age if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether, senior citizens should continue working as long as they can, or retire and enjoy life. Seeing the merits of both sides, I personally agree that older people should focus on enjoying life, and this essay will explain why. On the one hand, proponents argue that financial benefits are a key reason why seniors continue to work despite their advanced age. In today's challenging and volatile economy, multiple income sources have become a vital safety net for families, enabling them to meet their daily needs and achieve financial stability. Elderly individuals who continue to work can at least support themselves without pressuring the other family members for finances. For instance, in a family of five, with two parents, a child, and two retired grandparents, the working parents often shoulder all the expenses for the entire family; however, if the grandparents also worked, they could financially contribute and alleviate some of this burden. On the other hand, there are strong arguments against the idea of working seniors. First, many believe that, after contributing to society and providing for their families, old people deserve to rest and enjoy their later years. Moreover, job markets in different parts of the world are already competitive, and retaining older workers may hamper younger and qualified individuals from finding employment. From my experience, as an example, I have seen a plethora of graduates every year with great capabilities and hard-working character, struggle to secure a job due to limited openings, by allowing older individuals to retire helps open up job opportunities for younger individuals. In conclusion, considering the financial advantages as a reason elderly people continue working, I believe that allowing them to fully retire promotes the opening of more job vacancies and enables them to enjoy a well-deserved rest, which ultimately benefits society.