Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, kids spend most of their time in mobile gadgets on a daily basis. The reasons for this are entertaining features and algorithms of phone and apps. In my opinion, it is negative development as it poorly affects their cognitive skills. There are several reasons why new generation are glued to smartphones. There a are variety of fun activities that phones provide such as games, funny short videos and social medias. They are aimed to hold youngster’s attention, and becoming Change the form of the verb become show examples addictive. Algorithms are functioned to create everlasting recommendation feed that recommend new entertaining content based on past request, consequently, children would be encouraged with a new portion of similar content after they finish one. For example, social media, named Tik Tok, is the most popular among the younger generation. There are millions of funny short videos that youngsters watch constantly due to its algorithms, that adjust the feed to their interests. Therefore, the cause of obsessing kids with phones is function of media platforms to adjust their interests. Spending too much time may negatively cause on their both mental and physical health. Mentally, continuous scrolling through short videos conditions the brain for quick rewards, making harder for children to focus on longer tasks. Physically, blue light from screens affects melatonin production, disturbing sleep cycles. Moreover, lack of face-to-face interaction may significantly affect social development, which involves learning how to interact, communicate, and build relationships with others. In conclusion, kids are addicted to phone because of the content recommendation capabilities, and this has a negative impact on their well-being, causing insomnia, concentration and social skills.