Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

"Many manufactured food and drinks include high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems." This definition is absolutely true and I agree with it. But I remain skeptical about the increase in the price of sugary products as the solution. In this essay, I would like to point out the importance of reducing sugar consumption. In my opinion, sugar is absolutely a huge threat to people's health nowadays. The sugar causes cancer, weight gain and obesity. Furthermore, sugar is commonly known to be a food addictive similar to alcohol, cigarettes and drugs. Alcohol, cigarettes and drugs are not cheap commodity anywhere in the world. The fact that these products are expensive, does not necessarily make a change in people's habits and addictions. I think it would not be wrong to evaluate sugar within the same context. So, I disagree that the increase in the price of sugary products can be a permanent solution in the long term. In addition, if the price increase was preferred for encourage people to consume less sugar, this might not influence people ’s choices effectively. I believe that expensiveness can only postpone to buying decisions or increase the trend of spending money overall. On the other hand, changing people's thoughts and behaviors are not easy to handle. To eliminate these problems, manufacturers, humans and capitalist system have to update their methods. Indeed, manufacturers should prioritize people's health over profit and low cost. People should change their own eating habits. Capitalism and brands should alter their own advertising method. Moreover, all people become conscious by authorities and health people. I think, these approaches can mitigate the sugar problem to some extend. Finally, when we examine this situation closely, it is absolutely obvious that sugary products should not be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. As mentioned earlier, It can not give us the results that we want. It is more reasonable to say that altering the ideas of people are relatively more challenging than making a change at product prices.