It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessery to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Nowadays, raising an offspring is a daunting task. It is often believed that punishing a child fosters good habits in children, making them capable to distinguish between good and bad and thus, this practice should commence right from childhood. In my view, there are several ways such as positive reinforcement, which both parents and the instructors should offer to a child inculcating good values and attitude. The traditional forms of punishment should be replaced by appreciation. Firstly, a child should be encouraged to be expressive and be stopped for any wrong doings, by his mentors. Instead of beating up or abusing a child when he accidently drops a toy, they should be told softly to pick up the toy and place it back. Once this is done, the child should be applauded or be remarked affirmatively. Harsh scoldings only lead to aggression and fear among children. By being a role model themselves, the parents should try to explain to their little one the disadvantages of doing such acts, so that they are careful in future events if such teaching requires multiple repetition. Learning by doing, is the best teaching style and has proved beneficial. A recent study conducted by Oxford University reveals that children fare well in life when they are raised in a pleasant environment rather than in an ambiance of negative remarks. Schools and homes are both learning institutions for the young. Instilling moral values, no doubt, requires a lot of effort through real-life examples and pragmatic approach but is worth every penny. These days, children are awarded in schoold schools when they demonstrate exemplary behaviour and discipline. This encouragement goes a long way in shaping their future. In conclusion, it is essential for a child to know what is right and wrong. However, punishing a child by screaming and slapping are conventional ways. Modern methods of appreciation are more desirable and effective in bringing out a well groomed personality.