It is becoming increasingly expensive to keep museums open to public. What do you think is the best way of funding them (e.g. government, businesses or individuals)?

There is an ongoing interest in the financing of museums. It is becoming prohibitively expensive to operate museums for the public. The question now is what is the most efficient method of funding them. In my opinion, there should be collaborative efforts of the government and the individuals. I will delineate my view in this essay, supported with relevant examples. Firstly, one reason I believe the state should invest in the maintenance of museums is that it contributes to the local economy and its development. Museums are tourist centres, which attract visitors to a country or a city. When a substantial number of people visit, it creates employment opportunities for the indigenous, ranging from the accommodations-hotels to the transportation. It also promotes local businesses, leading to the development of the community. For example, in my hometown Umuahia, in the southeastern part of Nigeria, the War Museum is the major centre of attraction that outsiders from other parts of the country and abroad visit, overseen by the state government. This has contributed immensely to the rapid development of Umuahia over the years, as it has evolved from a small local town to a big industrial city. Secondly, individuals should be directly involved in running this historical art gallery to reduce over-tourism. This can be done by commercializing it. A constant visit to a gallery affects the sustainability of the environment. For this reason, placing a need for everyone to purchase a ticket before any tour does not only reduce the number of visitors but also generates enough money for the maintenance and renovations. In this way, the museum can remain alluring and sustainable for the future. For instance, in Kyiv, the capital city of Ukraine, a museum focused on the history of medical philosophy has been commercialized since its launching day. This is no doubt why it has remained the most organized and attractive art gallery in the country. In conclusion, with the significant rise in costs of operating museums, I believe it is essential for the state to invest significantly in its functioning, and individual financing can be ensured through ticket sales.