Some parents give their children everything that their children ask for or allow them to do whatever they want to do. Is this good for children? What could be consequences for these children when they grow up?

Giving children everything may enable them fail to learn how to follow rules and behave appropriately at school. They become accustomed to getting whatever they want and doing whatever they please, which they may struggle to accept rules or restrictions, and thus they apply the same attitude and mindset at school, expecting similar treatment at home, leading to behavioural issues and conflicts with peers or teachers. Furthermore, children are less likely to cherish and appreciate what they have, as their demands are always easily fulfilled. By contrast, if they have to earn things at some cost, such as better academic achievements or engaging in household chores, they may have a better understanding of how hard it is to achieve things in real life and develop a sense of responsibility. The long-term consequences of this parenting style could be serious. In adulthood, these individuals may deficiency in emotions regulations. Because they are not well aware of the delayed gratification, they feel disappointed and resentful when they are unable to get what they request immediately. Consequently, they may become aggressive, impatient and disappointed when involved in such situations. Moreover, being raised in such spoiled environment may cause the low competitiveness in the job market. Their parents always handle difficulties for them, and they rarely have opportunities to face challenges on their own, which they miss chances to analyze situations, consider options or make decisions. As a result, this dependence can cause a lack of problem-solving skills and decision-making skills, both of which are essential portraits that employers would like to see. In conclusion, giving children unlimited freedom and satisfying all their desires may appear loving in the short term but can lead to negative consequences in the long run. It is essential for parents to set reasonable boundaries and teach children that effort, discipline, and patience are necessary for personal growth and success in life.