The only way to improve the safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The most possible way to reduce road accidents is by strictly punishing those driving inattentively. I completely agree with this statement. This essay will provide several arguments supporting my viewpoint. To begin with, it is indeed relevant that accidents and traffic congestion occur due to the carelesness of the driver. As, many drivers often cross minimum speed on roads and often forgets to wear seatbelts as well as helmets thus, resulting in severe accidents and injuries. Making traffic law strict with rigid punishment will enhance safety while driving. For example, Kerala transport authorities had placed camera all over the city to monitor drivers who are not wearing seatbelts and helmets with fine charges therby, people tend to be more vigilant in driving. To add on, there are people who drives even when they are drunk or without having proper driving license especially the under 18. These kind of people are the main culprints in making multiple collison on the routes thereby, making it hard for other drivers and passengers. Punishining them precisely can make a good change in their driving. For instance, Indian police officers often patrol in city during late night to catch drivers drunk and often punish them over a month by restricitng them to drive, this act makes people more alert to not drive while drunk. They also punish those parents who give their motor vehicle to under 18 by also blocking the parents license as a punishement. To conclude, the best method to stop road injury is by harshly punishing those driving reckless. I completely agree with this statement as punishing them for their mistakes will make them more attentive while driving.