Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is a trend for the vast majority of people with health problems to hold an opinion that alternative medicines are more effective than going to the hospital. I certainly believe that it is mostly harmful improvement as scientific medicine provides better quality treatment than national or traditional ones. In this essay let us discuss both sides of this statement and reach a reasonable conclusion. On the one hand, one of the advantages of alternative treatments is that it is much more accessible for everyone who cannot afford medicines or professional doctors, moreover, people do not need a recipe to take it. A further convenience is that it mostly uses natural ingredients rather than chemicals in ordinary pharmacy which reduce the chance of possible consequences after taking them. For instance, older generations who did not have any effective medicines used to heal with the help of natural ingredients such as garlic, honey and some plants. On the other hand, although, national treatment is good for humans health, it does not give a 100% probability of healing from diseases as some people might be allergic to plants or worse quality ones may be used. Furthermore, such methods were not approved by scientists and were not studied properly yet so in some cases they might be dangerous. For instance, there are a lot of preparations nowadays that are believed to be healthy but those who were consuming them and doctors say different. To sum up, alternative medicines are effective in helping immune system but in case of illness it is better to go to the hospital. I think that however scientific treatment may lead to having side effects, it still gives more confidence of healing.