Many children today use the internet unsupervised. This can create problems for the parents and the children. What are the biggest dangers for the children in using the internet unsupervised and what can be done to stop this problem.

Nowadays the internet has become widely accessable, specially to children where they can roam the internet without supervison, and a child freely using the internet could cause many problem for the child and their parents, because the internet is a dangerous place, this essay will explore the dangers of the internet and how to mitigate or stop its adverse effects. One of the biggest pitfalls that children fall into while using the internet is online gambling, where the gambling stems from is playing online video games, even with the parents knowledge, another major problem from using the internet is when children talk to strangers online, due to childrens innocent nature, strangers can take advantage of them, by stealing personal information both their and their parents personal information, and another problem a child can cause from using the interent is infecting their device with a computer virus, where the virus can lead to personal data and bank detail theft. To stop children from using the internet unsupervised parents must implement one of these solutions, firstly is to limit the child's ability to access to a device with an internet connection, secondly, when using the internet parents should use parenting tools that are available in web browsers to limit the childrens ability to access variaus unwanted websites and lastly, parents should teach their children proper internet use such as, do not communicate with strangers and do not download files from unknown websites. In conclusion unsupervised internet usage by children is a major problem that parents face, but with the right guidence for both child and parent, most of the problems can if not all can avoided.