Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunize their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

These days, technology and medicine have been shown remarkable advancements. Vaccines are an example of this evolution, which can save people, specifically children, from preventable diseases. This essay will discuss the right of parents to choose or not to immunise their children. Firstly, it is widely known that vaccines save lives. According to the data collected in a research study taken by the Harvard University, the chance to children develop a complication from a disease such as measles, if they are vaccinated, is lower than 25%. For this reason, countries such as Brazil choose to require parents to immunise their children against common diseases. Therefore, the amount and the spread of these illnesses is low and well controlled, allowing for better life expectancy in this age. On the other hand, a variety of countries gives to the individuals the right to choose immunise or not their infants. For instance, Australia is one of these nations that provides liberty to parents. However, while the vaccination is not mandatory, it is extremely encouraged by the government, which provides specific free vaccines to the population. Consequently, this country also have a strong immunization program that recognize the importance of this health campaign. In summary, no matter if laws or individuals choice are the pathway, the result needs to be a high vaccination coverage. Moreover, the goal needs to be the protection of children ’s health and support their vaccination. The protection of children from preventable diseases directly contributes to a healthier, more resilient society.