The breakthroughs in medical science are by far the most significant advances in world society over the last two centuries. Discuss this statement and give your opinion.

Medical science has been witnessing considerable progress since the 1800s. This advance could be particularly found in the sports medicine community. In contrast to before, exercise has been considered an effective way to maintain basic functions in our body and treat a range of fatal diseases. In my opinion, this breakthrough was the most important change in our life. In the past, people exercised for fun of communication. For example, by playing various sports, such as basketball, baseball,or tennis, human beings could communicate with their family and friends, thereby improving their close-knit relationships. Apart from this, educators considered physical activities as a way to cultivate children's personality. That is to say, in PE classes, teachers could foster their cooperation, self-discipline and compromise during different well-structured activities. However, despite this, the majority of parents and instructors still believed that students should pay full attention to their core curriculum, such as mathematics, linguistics, or sciences, instead of sports. However, nowadays, thanks to a lot of relevant research, the benefits to our health of exercise have become well-known. According to the American College of Sports Science, exercise is medicine, which means we can improve our health through exercise. Lots of evidence indicates that regular physical activities can not only facilitate different kinds of physiological and psychological functions but also reduce the risks of sorts of diseases, such as heart attack, sarcopenia, or diabetes. To be more specific, experts suggested that to maintain basic physical health and cognitive function, we need to participate in endurance exercises for at least 300 minutes per week, while for muscular fitness, people should engage in a least two times of strength training sessions weekly. I believe that a lack of people knew this information 200 years ago, nevertheless, the breakthroughs in sports medicine have been absolutely dropping the rates of a variety of syndromes caused by sedentary life patterns, leading to people's longevity. In conclusion, with such enormous changes in our insights into sports medicine, conventional medicine is no longer the only way to prolong our lifespan and maintain our health.