Academic plagiarism has become a pressing issue in many countries today. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

In this day and age technology has taken over our daily lives. Most young people can not imagine a life without social media, google and AI. Concurrently, more and more people find ways to plagiarize their academic work. I am going to discuss the causes of the acute issue of academic plagiarism and what we can do to solve it. Firstly, easy internet access for students from all walks of life enables them to cheat effortlessly. With a strong AI presence online, youngsters can generate high quality assignments in only a few minutes. For instance, a lot of university students use chatGPT to write time-consuming essays. As a result, they don’t learn all the necessary material. Moreover, the anxiety of failing deters people from working honestly. When people lack confidence that they can complete a certain task well, they tend to copy off of someone else. For example, students often ask someone they perceive as smart for answers. Besides, the lack of care for academic integrity exacerbates this trend. As a consequence, students fail to develop critical skills in school. To combat this, schools should place a stronger emphasis on academic honesty. If students realize how crucial it is to learn, they are less likely to participate in academic plagiarism. For instance, a lecture about educational values would deter people from cheating. Therefore, they would demonstrate and uphold the highest integrity in all academic work. Furthermore, assisting and guiding students would encourage them to try their best. When people feel assured that they can perform well, they are not likely to cheat. For example, helping students who are struggling to attain high results would lead to higher confidence in their work. Hence, youngsters might refrain from enhancing their assignments in dishonest ways and improve their learning. To conclude, academic plagiarism has been brought about by a fear of failing and accessible cheating tools online. In order to address this problem, schools should encourage academic honesty and make sure students feel comfortable making mistakes.