Some people think that it is better for high school students to study a wide range of subjects than to focus on a narrow range of subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is argued that high school students need to study a wide range of subjects instead of focusing on a narrow range of subjects. The positives are higher knowledge and a variety of choices while the negatives are overburden and lack of specialisation on a particular subject, both views will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, there are two main reasons why this is a good idea. Firstly, students if exposed to a variety of subjects then their field of knowledge would widen. Furthermore, pupils would have a plethora of courses to choose from to pursue their tertiary education. Secondly, students would feel that their high school is much easier than before since they wouldn't go deep into the subject. For example, according to a study conducted by an educational organisation,over 75% of students submitted that they would benefit from such an educational system. On the other hand, there are certain drawbacks to this system namely overburden and lack of in-depth knowledge on a particular subject. Moreover, pupils might also be stressed due to the increase in the number of subjects they have to learn. Even though, they might benefit from the increase in the number of choices of tertiary courses to choose from, this wouldn't matter since they would lack specialisation on a particular subject which in turn will make them ill-equipped to pursue tertiary education. For instance, according to a study conducted by Harvard university, students who had less subjects to learn in their high school excelled in their further studies. In conclusion, such systems shouldn't be encouraged as they would negatively affect the pupils education as well as their future. Therefore, I completely disagree with the statement and better educational systems should be implemented to ensure a better future endeavours of students.