Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones in communication has negative effects on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people claim that the increased number of gadgets in communication has a detrimental effect on young people's literacy skills. While I agree that technology reduces engagement with traditional reading and writing practices, I also believe it opens doors to new skills, which are essential in modern life. Technological devices decrease exposure to traditional literacy. That is to say, people mostly use social media platforms, such as WhatsApp and Instagram to stay up-to-date and communicate with their friends. Rather than sending traditional letters to each other or reading books we rely on technology. For example, many people constantly send messages to their family members. Additionally, we prefer to watch YouTube videos such as a review of long novels instead of reading their books, which is time-saving in today's digital era. On the other hand, smartphones and computers help us to gain new skills, namely, coding and programming. To clarify, the internet consists of numerous valuable resources, which help individuals to easily and quickly search for any topic. So, instead of spending hours in traditional classes, this development gives a chance to attend courses online and learn new advancements in various fields. For example, many medical students participate in online conferences that enhance their knowledge and keep them motivated. In conclusion, due to increased use of digital tools, nowadays people experience less of traditional literacy practices. However, this also helps people to acknowledge new skills, which are vital in today's digital era.