Some people say that modern innovation brings about more problems than benefits? Do you agree or disagree?

In the last few decades, there have been many groundbreaking innovations with the purpose of making human lives better. But, these innovations have the potential to be misused, incurring many issues inadventurely. A section of society contends that the problems caused by innovations outweight the benefits delivered by it. This essay disagrees with this perspective and will further explain it through examples. Due to rapid advancement in technology and science, world has seen far more inventions recently that in the last few centuries. For instance, fast internet and devices such as smartphones have made lives easier for citizens across the world. Technology has helped the humankind in all spheres of life and has provide numerous benefits. For example, the poor children can now access unlimited educational resources on internet through cheap smartphones. Another example is that farmers are able to increase farm productivity significantly through advanced weather prediction technology. Similarly, law enforcement agencies are able to track all activites through webcams in real time to prevent any untowering incidents. While there are tremendous benefits, there are scenarios where technology is getting misused. For example, children are getting addicted to smartphones and they are glued to the screens for multiple hours in the day, impacting their mental and cognitive growth negatively. Similarly, criminals are able to use the advance computer algorithms to hack the systems online. While these are valid critiques, there are ways to contain these negative effects. Smartphones usages for children can be governed by better parenting. Similarly, hacking can be prevented by building robust and secure infrastructure. In conclusion, it can not be denied that there are a few problems created by modern technology but these problems are addressable through prudent behaviour and better governance. The advantages brought by technology far outweigh the issues caused by it.