Children nowadays watch TV programmes more than ever before. Is watching television good or bad for children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is true that children are watching more television as compared to the past decades. I think watching educational TV programmes helps them to boost their knowledge and it serves as a bonding activity among family members. I think watching TV on a daily basis reduces their interest in outdoor activities and may lead to engaging in criminal and violent activities in their life. Majority of the individuals believe that TV is like an educational tool where information is more readily available than anywhere else. For instance, Net Geo and Discovery channels increase the curiosity of children to learn more about various species by showing different animations on TV screens. Also, these channels not only improve their vocabulary level but also make them more efficient in learning about a particular language as well. Moreover, TV assists the children in spending quality time with their family members and ameliorates their relationships when they watch Tv together. In this way, children share their knowledge of what they watch and clarify their doubts when they are unable to understand anything. So, watching TV together is a great idea to strengthen their family relationships. I think watching an excessive amount of Tv can negatively affect the holistic development of children. Most of the children love to stay in their homes and sitting in front of the TV screen. By doing this, children become obese and leading for opting an unhealthy lifestyle. They do not like to be a part of physical activities and because of that, they never learn how to work in a team and how to solve a problem together by using effective communication and confidence ability. Another point is that, some TV programmes show criminal and violent content and exposure to these kind of material on TV, makes children more aggressive and less empathetic towards others. For instance, four or five-year-olds may use hitting, biting or pushing as a way to solve their conflicts instead of behaving patiently. To sum up, juveniles are spending more time on these tv programmes which makes them experts by watching educational channels and lessening the conflict between their family members when they watch TV simultaneously but I think these programmes affect the children physically and mentally. As, they show their lack of interest in doing physical activities and give more priority to watching criminal and violent shows which makes their nature cruel and hard-hearted.