Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion

There is an ongoing debate regarding modern technology and its effects on the population. Some people believe that it has brought people together, while others affirm the opposite. In my opinion, even if technology has created a lot of benefits, especially in the communication department, it has also caused a lot of social problems. There are some advantages that are related to modernization. Firstly, through social media it is possible to connect people from different countries, who share similar interests, allowing them to create friendships, and, consequently, feel less alone. Secondly, new technologies allow people from all over the world to communicate; therefore, those who are travelling or who live abroad can easly interact with their relatives. For example, young people who live away from their parents can keep in contact with them, and use video calls to contrast homesickness. However, these developments have also caused a lot of problems. Firstly, young people prefer to spend all their time online, instead of going outside and living their lives. As a result, they have becomed asocial, and are dissociated from reality. Secondly, researches show a connection between people, who suffer from mental health disorders, and social media, confirming that the seconds are one of the main cause for these issues. For instance, statistics prove how Instagram has caused eating disorders in a lot of teenagers, by exposing them to unreachable beauty standards. In conclusion, while it is true that technology improved some parts of our lives, allowing people from all around the globe to keep in touch, it is impossible to ignore all the downsides connected to it.