Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Science and technology are transforming the world nowadays. Some people claimed that university students should study subjects that could enhance them and socialise in the future rather than their passions. However, there are both advantages and disadvantages to this idea. On the positive side, the hiring rate of first jobbers who graduated from the technology field could significantly increase over a period of time. As a consequence, university students in science- and technology-related courses could have more potential to get a job when they graduate. Secondly, academic certification could be needed to work in this specific field. Therefore, people who relate to this field could have lower redundancy possibilities, or, in other words, they are likely to be irreplaceable. On the other hand, professional life required more than just a degree but their passion, which is a major factor to be considered. More specifically, passion could drive their quality of work and also be a strong motivation to complete academic life. Students should have free will to decide which course that they admire and want to enrol in. Moreover, the outcome and the future trend are not stable and can not be promised to be a success. As for the reason I mentioned above, although I believe there are both advantages and disadvantages to choosing a future trend over their passion. Students ’ opinions should be included in consideration. In addition, the education system is a free space for students to experiment and express themself; therefore, they can always change their minds and choose their right path.