Nowadays, news companies spend a lot of money covering international news. However, local news is more relevant to people’s lives and should receive more funding.’ To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the prevailing era, a large amount of money is being spent by news organizations. Nevertheless, regional news should obtain more subsidies because it is more appropriate to lives of individuals. Although international news are crucial for citizens, I believe that news agencies ought to focus on national news. Commencing with the most salient reason why media companies invest money on global news is that having news on local channels can change the prospective of dwellers towards the people of others nations. Many people are less likely to make the wrong assumptions towards humans of other countries. For example, a decade ago, it was considered in India that people who live in African countries are live under the poverty line and they are facing countless challanges to get basic things, such as shelter, food, and groceries. As a result, crime rate is escalating at an unprecedented rate and the nation is not safe neither for living nor for visiting. Thanks to the news, the myth has been solved. On the other sides, I believe that local news cannot be overlooked. It helps to spread the awareness among local individuals. Local news coverage often exposes the concerning issues that is faced by people such as, health care problem, crime and unemployment rate. As a result, the information empowers the citizens to take part more actively in local elections, attending events, and many more. For example, Nirbhay case that was happened in India in 2012. A young girl was rapped by many people in Delhi that is the capital of India. The criminals did not get the servere punishment. The incident took native people togather to gather on the roads against the government policies. Eventually, justice has been given to the girl. To conclude, even though spending money by news outlets on world wide news is crucial in making people aware about the roots of other countiress, I contemplate that paying attention to local news is essential in order to improve the lives of local people, so finacnical assistance should be given to cover the local news.