In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

In some countries, beauty products have become more popular since their target market has increased. Although those products can help people to get bright skin as well as repair their skin problem, I believe there are severe consequences of using bad products.  On the one hand, in order to make women become more beautiful, such as brighten or whiten their skin, they will use products with specific ingredients. For example, products like soap or sunscreen help them not only for lightening but also improve their skin quality. Moreover, in particular types of skin, beauty products can be used to repair the skin. Consider reducing black-spot as an example, this case can be tackled by several treatments using these products. As a result, women can have multiple benefits by these products. On the other hand, using beauty products without detailed investigation of the products and its ingredients could damage the skin. There are many products in the market who are not qualified by the authority. These products often contain bad ingredients such as mercury. If the skin gets exposed to these chemical compounds for a long period of time, the effect can worsen. For example, the face looks burned. Furthermore, instead of becoming more beautiful, they will lose confidence which affects their mental health. To sum up, there are several products in the market which help people especially women become prettier by brightening skin and also can be used for improving their skin quality. However, several problems can happened if they do not pay attention to the product license and its substances.