Since the beginning of the 20th century, the number of endangered species has increased significantly and we have witnessed more mass extinctions in this period than in any other period of time. State some reasons for this and provide possible solutions.

Mass extinction of endangered species is becoming inevitable these days. This situation is caused by several factors including climate change as well as pollution and contamination.  The first main reason why some organisms become extinct is climate changes. Climate change used to be a natural phenomenon starting from the prehistoric to modern era. However, in the recent decades human activity has significantly increased the effect, such as producing more greenhouse gases which make the global temperature rising. As a result, many species lose their habitat and no longer survive. Therefore, reducing greenhouse gases and shifting to sustainable energy can minimize global warming. Next, pollution and contamination also contribute to the disappearance of living things due to its toxicity. Many creatures die because they consume or get in contact with toxic waste, for instance, mercury. When animals intake food contaminated with heavy metal, it will remain in their body forever. Thus, make them suffer and die slowly. For some cases, mercury can cause hereditary disease which will have a terrible impact on animal’s regeneration and will lead to extinction. For these cases, contamination should be prevented or if this already appears, remediation action must be taken. In sum, mass extinction is a natural disaster, although in recent years people are contributing to the increasing effect such as producing more greenhouse gases and contaminating the ecosystem. Therefore, it can be prevented by shifting to sustainable energy and remediation.