Social media sites have allowed individuals to connect with each other, share their experiences, and express their opinions. However, possible employers can also access these pages when making a hiring decision. Do you think information shared on a social media site should be taken into account when hiring people?

Nowadays people can easily express and leave their thoughts, comments, or experiences on a social media site, which allows possible employers to access to the records left by the candidates. This article totally disagrees with an idea that information shared on a social media site should be considered when hiring employees. First of all, using one’s information on social media as a standard for making a hiring decision can be alarming since it is undermining one’s privacy. Although social media is used as a tool and space to connect with each other, many people tend to share their information with only who they are close to. That is why a lot of social networking services; facebook, Instagram, and snapchat, have adopted ‘following system’ which only allows followers to have direct exposures on one’s post. Therefore, mining the personal information of possible employees for employment is neglecting their private life. The other reason is that, the opinions given by someone on the social media may not be true. Since people tend to use their ID for a long time, it is obvious for people to have past records that doesn’t match with their current thoughts. For example, users can forget about what they have expressed on the internet such as leaving comments on the news or sharing political thoughts on twitter. If their opinions have changed with time, employers who are currently in a hiring process can totally misunderstand the candidates. Therefore, it is important to keep in mind that, the information left by people cannot be always right. In conclusion, because individual’s shared ideas on the internet are privacy and some thoughts might not meet with current candidates’ perspective, it is inappropriate to take those information into account in a hiring process.