In some countries, people are forced to retire when they reach a certain age. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In many nations, they follow a certain regulation that when a worker reaches a specific age limit, they are mandated to retire. As such, mandatory retirement will open greater opportunities for young professionals to develop their skills in an organization effectively. However, it also has some downsides for companies as well as society. To start on the positive side, forced retirement has a variety of advantages. First, it will open attractive career opportunities for newly graduated professionals, resulting in higher productivity and increased profitability for the organizations. Senior workers, for example, may have limitations to delivering results expected from them due to physical incapability that has brought with oldness, making them less effective. In addition to this, retiring at the age of 65 will give quality time for senior citizens to bond with their family; catch up on those lost moments with children and grandchildren and reunite with childhood friends. Visit untraveled destinations and indulge themselves in sports, hobbies and interests that bring them greater happiness in life. On the other hand, there are certain disadvantages as well when workers reach the predetermined retirement age. Tenured individuals have more experience and expertise than the younger generations. Most companies keep and care for these workers for a longer time because their skills and knowledge are vital to the success of the company. For instance, experienced people have greater ability and competence to handle specific jobs than new recruits. Furthermore, when the number of retired senior workers rises, government mandatory pensions will increase as well or other benefits that impose a heavier tax burden on the younger generation. To conclude, forced retirement provides many new job opportunities for young job-seekers while giving seniors more leisure time. However, there are downsides to this strategy, including the loss of high-skilled employees and an increase in tax burden for society.