Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Some people argue that the amount of waste from homes that is recycled is too low and to tackle this issue, governments must be responsible for imposing a strict policy. I partially agree with this statement because it is understandable that the policy will seriously shape individuals' behaviour. However, governments should provide other incentives along with the policy. One reason why a legal requirement can increase recycling is it forces citizens to follow through due to more serious consequences. If people do not recycle their waste in a proper way, they will have to pay a high fine, making them comply with the law. For example, in countries such as Japan and Korea, the law covering how to categorize garbage and recycle it is strictly applied. As a result, their residents can manage their waste far more effectively than in other countries since they are afraid of being punished, significantly increasing the amount of recycled products. Apart from the regulation, governments should provide appropriate rewards for recycling in order to incentivise their people, making recycling more interesting. People are willing to change their behaviour if they know what they will get. For instance, many shopping malls encourage their customers to put used plastic bottles in provided boxes. The shopping centres then give points to these customers. Once the customers have collected enough points, they will get a huge discount to purchase items in the malls. Therefore, if governments can apply this example and offer rewards to citizens who recycle products regularly, this approach can motivate people and ultimately increase recycling. In conclusion, although I agree with some people who believe that governments should regulate citizens in order to increase the amount of recycling, I also think that they should incentivise individuals with rewards. If people are aware of the benefits they will get from recycling, they will be likely to recycle more, increasing the number of overall recycling activities automatically.