Write about the following topic: Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.  In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Research has shown that learning English is very crucial for everyone nowadays. On the other hand, local languages have been forgotten and most people do not pay attention to learning one of them. I strongly believe that this is a phenomenon which must be stopped because, despite the fact that the English language is the common language for every civilisation, other languages are equally significant to be taught. If this does not occur briefly, these languages risk being lost. Firstly, without a doubt, we can tell that English is the main language and is logical to be taught at school. Children who are young learn more easily than adults, thus it is important for them to learn a language which they can speak wherever they go. After this, they can learn other languages too. The choice of another language can rely on the purposes of a child, for instance, if he wants to study abroad and more specifically in France, it would be positive for him to learn the French language. Another case is to choose to learn a second language without any specific reason. In this case, parents usually choose the language and push their children to learn it. However, we should try to maintain local languages because behind every language exists a civilisation with its history and whether a language dies out, maybe the whole history will be forgotten. Of course, this is something that should not occur because every country's history and culture are major parts of this. For this reason, the smallest thing that we can do to help is to encourage children to learn more local languages. This is something that will not lose its value. I mean that the more languages you know, the better results will have in your future career. Moreover, schools should modify their schedule and add more local language choices. Thus children will have the opportunity to learn a local language and to help this not to die out. In conclusion, in my opinion, to help survive local languages is valuable because we must think about these countries. Do you like the Greek language to be forgotten? I do not think so. Thus the solution is between us and schools. Both of us can help with posing new generations to learn and maintain local languages.