Not enough students choose science subjects at universities in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What’s the effect on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In multiple countries, there are insufficient students to pick science -related subjects as their majors at universities. This essay will explore the reasons and illustrate the ripple effects of this situation. One main reason lies in the way we educate our students. When I was in high school, I was frustrated with learning science, which included mathematics, physics, and chemistry. Bombarded with hundreds of formulas and questions, it is really hard for me to find any interest in learning the subjects. Most of the time, we spent time in classes, taking lectures on how to break down the questions and apply the formula. I found it hard to connect with the real-world experience, so I lost interest in exploring them eventually. As a result, I didn’t take science into consideration when it came to deciding my major at university. Another reason can be attributed to the fact that working in science is not considered as a favourable career choice anymore. The most profitable position would be a businessman or even a freelancer in the social media industry. The rise of individualism and technology fosters the interest for kids seeking for more exciting journeys by experiencing life instead of spending long period of time in lab to figure out the theory of the phenomenon. This change in the job market also serves as a factor leading to fewer enrollment rate in science -related departments. Followed by this trend, it poses the risks of slowing down the technology development. With fewer individuals contributing their time and effort to focus on the research, the advancement become much harder than before. In conclusion, the decreasing popularity in choosing science subjects results from the teaching method and the shifting interest in the career options. At the same time, it causes the prolonged progress in technology.