Travel and Tourism Some people think that the tourism industry is damaging to local cultures, while others believe it provides economic benefits. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that tourism industry is detrimental to local communities, while others claim that it is beneficial for economic prosperity. Although certain domestic norms showcase the uniqueness of the particular state, the vast majority of tourists are still unaware of the cultural heritage, makes them less likely to visit the country, and for this reason, I agree with the latter view. Local documentaries can provide knowledge and a greater understanding of various topics, such as local food, regional languages and history. This allows viewers to experience different art forms and traditions, which is often more enthralling than seeing News channels. For example, through the BBC’s cultural documentaries viewers can learn all sorts of new facts about the city that they might not have seen before in their lifetime. However, documentaries only represent a tiny fraction of what people actually watch on TV, and I believe that they are not providing holistic coverage to local cultures. The fact remains that tourism is a significant economic driver, generating revenue and employment in various sectors like transportation, accommodation and beverage services. Moreover, a lot of large corporations are investing heavily in this industry because it has been the most lucrative market in recent years. For instance, Turkish government is providing financial assistance to small businesses at subsidized rates to promote economic growth in order to boost the domestic economy. I, therefore, agree that, tourism is imperative for the development of the country. In conclusion, despite a few documentaries and cultural shows providing good source of knowledge, the overwhelming majority of people want economic freedom, and I believe that this more important in broader spectrum.