Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write atleast 250 words.

Utilizing kids ' time has become a concern recently. It has been noticed that they are wating wasting waiting a lot of time playing on their phone or chatting with their friends. I strongly believe that this attitude has many drawbacks on childrens' peronality and their mental health. In this essay, I will explain why I think so. Kids are becoming more distracted. Teachers in schools noticed that students in the elementary level are struggling to focus for more than ten minutes. For example, as an elementary teacher, I noticed in the last two years that the quality of students' academic outcomes in Math has reduced by about 10%. Moreover, it is challenging for me to keep them focused on one skill, like addition, for 20 minutes. Learners indicated that it is boring and they can use their mobiles to add. Also, they expressed being annoyed of working in groups to solve some addition questions as they feel discussing on WhatsApp Chat groups is more interesting. In addition, children's social lives will be highly affected by smartphones. They prefer to spend all their free time on phone entertainment rather than visiting friends and family members. For instance, my five-year-old son would like to be rewarded with hours of playing Super Mario on his phone, rather than going to the park and meeting his friends. This reflects negatively not only on their social skills but also on their mental health. In conclusion, kids should not spend unlimited time on their phones. Distraction and isolation are the most serious threats that the new generation may face in the future. I suggest that parent take action and limit the technology time for the benefit of their kids.