Some people believe that Art gives our lives meaning and purpose. Others believe that it is merely a distraction from real life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some say that art -related materials such as music and paintings have such an influence on our lives and make our lives meaningful and fulfilled while others think that those things are nothing but something that can distract our attention from our lives. Even though there are pros and cons about this topic, I support the former opinion because they can enhance a quality of life and offer a purpose in life with joy and happiness. It is true that things like music and paintings, related to arts, are now ubiquitous and some people feel that those are essential for them to make their lives filled with meaning and satisfaction. For example, a public opinion poll conducted by NHK in Japan shows that people who are a significant fan of a musician or an artist are more likely to enjoy their life including their hobbies and career, thus leading to a better quality of life, compared to those who do not have any interest in arts. From this data, it is clearly seen that people find life with art more meaningful and satisfying. Turning to some advantages, one of them is that spending much more time than the adequate amount of time on art can have a damaging effect on our lives. That is because human beings have a tendency that we pay attention less to other things when concentrating on one thing, which could imply that people spending their lives with art -related interests extremely tend to lose their self control and can be easily affected by their interest. For instance, a large number of fandoms who were obsessed with a Korean idol, Mumbin, committed a suicide when he committed suicide in his apartment. However, I believe that this can be mitigated if we promote social awareness of how important our each life is through media. In conclusion, I think that the upsides to art outweigh the downsides because although too much obsession with art can cause our lives to be ruined, living with what we like can provide our lives with meaning and goals, which can be more beneficial.