There are now millions of cars on roads in most big cities. Pollution from cars is the most important problem that big cities face today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, most individuals own a car and due to this most people believe that pollution from cars is the most important problem that big cities face. I partially agree with the suggestion as pollution is amongst the biggest problems that cities face. To begin with, with millions of vehicles on the road, these automobiles leave a carbon footprint. Although the carbon footprint from a single vehicle is insignificant, the quantity of vehicles makes it a prominent issue. Moreover, these harmful gases result in the greenhouse effect and also play an important role in rising sea levels. However, there are other equally important problems such as noise pollution and traffic congestion. Noise pollution is the biggest contributing factor in stopping development. For instance, both workplace and school struggle to maintain focus and determination in the noise and this hinders their productivity and learning ability. Furthermore, most people are working nowadays and to reach their destination they have to leave homes very early the optimal time in order to compensate for traffic delays. This, in turn, requires them to wake up earlier than needed which degrades their mental and physical health due to poor sleep and rest. In conclusion, I believe that pollution is a significant problem for cities to tackle, however, noise pollution and traffic congestion are more prominent ones. Noise pollution can affect hearing abilities and traffic congestion can ultimately get employees fired.