Some people think governments should spend money in looking for life on other planets, while others think that there are many unsolved problems on earth. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, since technology has improved significantly, scientists have the ability to explore unknown areas in space. However, some criticisms may argue that we should focus the issues on earth rather than space. I consider that it is more important to solve problems on our planet. On the one hand, discovering space can provide our society with lots of benefits. First, astronomy and technology may have plenty of opportunities to be upgraded or invented because scientists and engineers want to explore successfully in unfamiliar and dangerous space. For example, the company, Space X, aimed to search other planets in an economical way. As a result, it produced the cheapest and reusable spacecraft in the world. Second, looking for life in space may give us hope to migrate to a new planet. If other planets have life, they must contain water, air, and sunlight. We may have a chance to keep thriving in another area. On the other hand, some people contend that exploring space wastes enormous resources and money. The government should put more effort into enhancing our living conditions since there are abundant problems that need to be solved. For example, the price of a house increases dramatically, while the salary is still stable. People cannot afford to buy a house anymore. Hence, the government should allocate money to mitigate the gap, assisting everyone in having their own house. Furthermore, the government needs to improve our environment rather than find a new home. There are lots of problems of pollution, such as air, water or soil. We should find a way to protect the earth and consistently dwell here. To sum up, I can understand that it is exciting to discover new life on other planets. However, we should try our best to solve problems on earth and live here permanently.