Some people think that the best way to improve the road safety is by reducing the speed limit. Others think that there are other ways to improve road safety. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

In recent years, road safety is number one priority for everyone. Some groups of people believe that reducing a speed limit is the only way of betterment. Whereas, others think that there are numerous ways that we can consider to improve road safety. I will discuss both views with reasons and relevant examples along with my opinion in the following essay. To begin with, considering regulated the speed limit for the vehicles is very essential for individuals. The predominant reason is that the chances of collisions are reduced by maintaining the speed limit according to rules and regulations. As a result, one can ride their vehicles without any fear. To illustrate, a study by the University of Waterloo mentioned that 40% of accidents which are happened on the highways are decreased due to reducing the speed limit. On the other hand, we cannot ignore that there are several other ways which are also beneficial in regards to overcome this issue. First and foremost, building the wider roads can be the best way to minimal traffic congestion. As a consequence, people will not face any accidents in the busier areas and during the busiest time. Moreover, proper traffic lights at every intersection are also required for safety. For example, with the use of traffic lights, pedestrians can conveniently cross the roads which can lessen the collisions. Apart from that, the government should impose fines for those individuals who are riding their vehicles without following traffic and road safety rules. To conclude, according to my opinion, reviewing other aspects such as construction of best road ways, having strict rules and other required facilities can be more helpful for people rather than reducing the speed limit. As well as applying fines and demerit points is essential for road safety.