Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more support to local film industries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, it is really simple to watch movies from all over the world, not only at the cinema, but also through Netflix or Prime Video with devices, like smartphones or computers. Some people are interested more to foreign films than local movies. This trend is not easy to explain and the causes could be different in each country. Perhaps, the main one is the domain of American market. However, institutions and citizens should support local film industries with more effort, Sometimes, foreign films are more popular than local ones. For example, the American movies industry is the most famous. It is a huge system, especially developed in Los Angeles, with the best actors, producers and directors. This industry produce an enormous number of films each year, of any types – action, romance, horror, comedy, and historical. It attracts spectators from each part of the World, from Europe, to Asia. Conversely, local films released yearly are just a quarter of the American ones, and they usually are similar to each others. To overcome this trend, governments should support the local film industries. Firstly, we should encourage young people to pursue acting careers. Schools of cinema need economic support from local councils, institutions and governments. Secondly, each country should invest in its talents. As a consequence, it could contribute economically in the production of movies, produced and developed locally. Finally, it could be useful an advertising campaign, inside or, even better, outiside the country, to achieve more audience. To sum up, even if today watching a film is more simple than ever, local movies are ignored completely. The main reason is the domain of American industry, which produces award-winning motion pictures every year. However, governments can contribute to resolve this problem, through finance aids, advertizing campaigns, and supporting schools.