Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can goverments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Most people in metropolitan areas over the last thirty years have preferred to have their own vehicles, specifically cars. Consequently, this may increased the levels of congestion on many routes. In my opinion, this is true because, particularly in urban areas, car ownership is a symbol of prestige, and some people are frustrated with public transportation. Therefore, government need to take an action to manage the use of private cars as solution for traffic jams in numerous areas. First of all, the government must be wiser in establishing laws related to car ownership. The general solution is to establish a policy about car quotas or be more strict with policies that have been created. In addition, creating regulations to increase vehicle taxes is also important for controlling the number of private vehicles. As a result, some people may reconsider purchasing a car due to higher costs. Moreover, authorities may collaborate with institutions and academic experts to develop technology that create sustainable transportation. This collaboration might lead to advance eco-friendly innovations, such as electric vehicles and improved public transport systems, such as a design website which offers real-time public transportation tracking and public transportation schedule. Moreover, they also may establish smart traffic management to manage traffic flow. Even though the government’s role for this problem is very significant, educating people is also important, as it is not only the government’s responsibility, but also the actions of society that have an impact. One solution is to create a campaign that may organize by environmental activists, volunteers, and other groups.The purpose of this campaign is encourage people about the negative effects of owning a vehicle other than congestion are higher pollution and lower air quality. Additionally, the campaign aims to encourage people to use public transportation. To conclude, traffic congestion remains a serious issue in a big city that needs to be handled. Both the government and citizens must be aware of the negative impacts of owning a car and take action to reduce its effects.