You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, many people think that governments should invest on space discovery, in order to find new resources and places to live. Others, instead, believe that there are already several social and economic problems on earth, so institution should focus on these. Why governments should support space investigation? Firstly, this type of exploration - even if it is difficult in terms of equipment, technologies, and economic resources involved - might be useful for our future on earth. The space is a place without an end, in which it is surely possible to find a planet with lots of energetic resources, that we can use on our. This is a common topic today, due to lack of raw materials - we have already consumed roughly 80% of them. Moreover, scientists might work on rebuilding an alternative planet for humans. Climate change is destroying our “home”, from environmental disasters, to health emergencies. For example, just 5 years ago, an epidemic virus, called Covid-19, spread all over the world. However, other people are concerned about a possible space investment from governments. From their point of view, institutions should cooperate to find a practical solution on our planet, in order to improve our present, and, even more, our future. There are already different problems on earth, and people are already struggling to resolve them. Instead of discovering new worlds, it would be beneficial to invest in the healthcare, environment, and school. To sum up, some people today support space discovery, while others are interested in resolving the actual problems on earth, like inequality and poverty. While I understand who sustains the " Space Race", I firmly believe that, in this specific moment of history, our concerns should be others.