Governments spend an enormous amount of money on renovations of old buildings in large cities. Some believe that this money can be better spent on building new houses and developing roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is huge amount of money spent to renovate old buildings in many cities. A few consider this as a sheer wastage and argue spending on building new houses and new infrastructure is a better use of our limited finances. I disagree with this opinion, stating that old buildings have a history and a charm which cannot be written off. Although it may be tempting not to spend money on old buildings and spend them on building new stuctures instead, it is important to consider the historical significance of existing structures, which might be monuments, museums, offices, or residences. It is crucial to retain the history to the best of humankind's capabilities. Imagine, if government would not have made efforts on renovating Taj Mahal or Red Fort, which are 300 years old and are a few of the most popular tourist places in India. These tourist places not only represent history but also remind us of unique architecture, which is hard to replicate in present times. It is understandable that upkeeping and maintaining the old edifices may incur exorbitant expenses, but efforts could be made to find out the modern and efficient ways to sustain these buildings without cutting a deep hole in the pocket. While it is important to develop new infrastructure like building roads and new buildings, they could be funded by seperate budget, not from the renovation budget. They could be considered on basis of merit and be allocated finances accordingly. In conclusion, so we should find means to sustain old historical buildings to retain our beautiful history and nostalgic charm. At the same time, new projects could be considered on basis of their merit and could be funded as per their productive usage.