The poorer countries are, the higher corruption rate is. What are the causes and solutions for that phenomenon?

In most developing countries, the proportion of government employees who participate in corrupt activities is quite higher than in other countries. In this essay, I will discuss some causes for this phenomenon and then I will give some reasonable solutions to solve this issue. There are two main causes of this issue. Firstly, the public government in low-income nations is often weak and lacks transparency. This is because institutions responsible for law enforcement and public management are politically influenced and poorly managed. Therefore, government officials are easy to engage in corrupt activities. Secondly, the authority workers are offered low salaries and poor working conditions. The fact is that their wages are considered to be lower compared to living expenses, especially in urban areas. Furthermore, they have to wait approximately 3 years to be promoted, but the salary is only a little bit higher than before. As a result, they are susceptible to bribes to increase their income. However, there are some appropriate solutions which can deal with this phenomenon. Firstly, national authorities have to improve transparency, rule of law and accountability for government budget spending. Specifically, the authority should implement digital systems to track public spending, making it easier and more transparent to monitor public spending. As a result, this solution can reduce the opportunities for bribery in low-income countries. Secondly, it is very necessary to raise wages for public officials and improve their workplace, which will minimize the temptation to engage in corruption. For example, if a person is satisfied with their current salary and working environment, they will not participate in illegal activities. To sum up, the weak government and low wages for civil servants are the main reasons for corruption in poor nations. In order to solve them effectively, local authorities have to develop the state budget digital system and promote benefits for authority employees.