Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Today, the majority of population goes at work by car or train, instead of using bicycles. These forms of transport are faster, and they have better performances. However, governments should encourage people to use bicycles, in order to preserve our environment and planet. Why today is it rare to find a bike on the street? The reasons of the progressive disappearance of this form of transport are different. Firstly, people prefer cars, trains, and buses, which are faster and effortless. In this way, workers can save time, for example, for breakfast in the morning, instead of losing thirty minutes to reach work by bike. In addition - and even more worried - cycling in the city is more and more dangerous, due to traffic and absence of specific and protected paths. With the effort of governments, we might be able to find a solution. Countries should, for instance, establish bike-sharing services for the community. Therefore, it is just the first step. What could really make the difference is improvement of cycle paths. They should be safe places, near water - such as lakes and rivers - and green - such as trees and parks. Moreover, they should connect every suburb of the city, without exceptions. Finally, advertising can be a good instrument to share health benefits of cycling, which are recently proved by research from an American university. This research have studied sixty students, from 19 to 23 years old. Half of them have started to use the bike to reach university, while the other half has continue to use cars. After 1 months, students who have started cycling have also performed better health test, such as blood pressure. To sum up, nowadays bycyles are less popular in comparison to twenty years ago, in relation to better performances of cars and trains. However, governments can make the difference, through bike-sharing programs, new cycle paths, and advertisements.