Some people believe that advertisements have a useful function for TV viewers while others disagree. What is your opinion about this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some individuals believe that advertisements show a productive function for television viewers while others would argue that it has a negative impact on the people watching television ads. I disagree with this statement about ads having useful consequences because advertisements give insufficient information that can have serious effects on human life in terms of health and safety. Majority of the promotions about a product are to increase the sales and profits of a company. Therefore, advertisements are designed to attract customers by promoting only the useful features of an item. As a result, lack of information about product utilization can cause serious health problems. Take cosmetic brands for instance, after many harmful effects on the public WHO (World Health Organization) has reported that, majority of the population are purchasing products watching ads on TV without knowing their skin type. Another reason is that the lack of addressing the safety measures for a product causes severe injuries and sometimes lead to death. In other words, safety precautions and restrictions are not addressed in advertisements on television like age, location and storage requirements which are very crucial before using an item. For example, a recent report from Cellio in Canada says that most of the chemical explosions are because of advertisements directed without mentioning safety instructions based on climatic conditions. In conclusion, ads have a huge influence on TV viewers through advertisements which can have health and safety concerns on people’s lives. Therefore, in my opinion I personally believe that advertisements have no useful function on the people watching advertisements.