Some people think competitive sports have positive affects on the education of teenagers while others argue that the effects are negative. Discuss both views and give your opinio.

While some people argue that competitive games impact teenagers’ education negatively, others believe that sports influence their studies positively. On the one hand, such competitive sports promote critical thinking of the participants but on the other hand, too much time is wasted during the preparation period. First and foremost, teens highly benefit from engaging in extra-curricular activities in school. They not only get exposed to problem-solving skills but also have their way of thinking significantly stimulated. Chess is a classic example. This game demands concentration and a great depth of reasoning to win a match. Despite the game’s complexity, the majority of students take home the medal because they get solutions quicker. Therefore, with such learnt and developed knowledge, an individual is able to solve daily life’s challenges. Moreover, a learner finds it easy to tackle the most difficult mathematics questions in class. However, some folks argue that a lot of time is spent practising for these matches hence taking up hours that would have been used for class work. In addition, learners travel long distances to the host’s field to showcase their talents making them waste more time outside the school, in turn, compromising the quality of learning. For instance, during the National Games competitions held in March in Mombasa, many school-going children presented their institutions so they had to skip some of the classes so as to present their institutions. On the downside, this most probably affected their performance in the final test. In conclusion, I believe that sports impact teens’ education positively because their brains are actively working despite them consuming a good deal of time in perfecting their skills.