Most people today communicate through mobile phones and computers, reducing face-to-face interactions. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, owing to the advancement of technology, people mostly rely on their mobile phones and laptops to interact with others rather than personal meetings. Although, this trend has improved relations as one can communicate overseas in a fraction of second however it also has some negative sides. This essay will discuss the pros and cons and explain why the advantages neglect its disadvantages. There are several significant benefits of talking over mobile phones. Firstly, it allows users to communicate over a wide range of distances, which means that individuals who are far away from their families in order to have higher education or better job opportunities can stay connected via audio or video call features. Secondly, in this modern society, no one has time to visit their relatives in up and down situations due to hectic work schedules, as a result, they prefer to support them over cell phones which also aids to save time and energy. On the other hand, there are a few drawbacks to consider. One issue is that as pupils do not meet personally their physical and emotional bonding are getting weaker. Moreover, reduced face-to-face interactions can also cause negative impact on communication skills and present movement awareness. For instance, a study conducted by a UK community organisation shows that long-distance friendships last longer in people who usually prefer face-to-face meetings twice a year than those who do not regularly meet. In conclusion, it is clear that there are both positive and negative sides of communicating over laptops and avoiding personal interactions. Furthermore, despite the drawbacks the overall advantages of interacting with the use of technology far outweigh them.