Some people think secondary school students should learn international news as one of their subjects, while others believe that this is a waste of valuable time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people often believe that international news should be taught as a part of academic courses for the pupils who study in secondary school, while some people argue that educating secondary school students on it does not make any sense. However, I will discuss this phenomenon in the following paragraphs, as, from my perspective, it has both positive and negative opinions. To begin with, in this modern education system, every student must read their academic courses widely with a view to ensuring a good academic result, and if international news is considered a main academic course, then they will be able to learn more information relating to news that is happening across the world. For example, if a scholar wants to develop his professional career, having knowledge of international news in student life will be helpful for him to write a report in the newspaper. Therefore, most secondary schools in this contemporary education society include international news as a main course at the higher education level. On the other hand, a group of individuals prefer not to include international news in the academic syllabus as it will create burden among the students out of their prime academic courses. Besides, the more courses provided at the secondary level, the more students will be demotivated to take the extra subject. Furthermore, as a subject, international news will not play a significant role for students who are interested in studying science in the future. For instance, according to the education system in Bangladesh, if a student wants to pursue his higher education in the social science group, he does not need to have knowledge of international news to confirm a good academic result. In conclusion, although students might be able to gain knowledge of international news if it is included in their secondary school level, some students might lose interest in studying this course as it will consume their valuable time.