Today, in modern society, fast food is growing and playing an important role in daily life. Many people think it has many benefits, but other don’t agree. Let’s consider what are the advantages and disadvantages of convenience food.

Over the course of the last decades, fast food items have become extremely popular all around the world. Although this trendy cuisine offers various advantages, such as availability and affordability, its side effects on our health cannot be neglected. Initially, in this fast-paced world, that everyone is always in rush, people prefer to prepare a processed edible, rather than spending hours cooking in the kitchen. For instance, a recent poll by the UK government found that more than 60% of the English eat pre-cooked food for dinner. In addition to that, purchasing a fast food item is generally cheaper than making a full meal at home. In other words, preparing a dish from scratch is far more expensive than buying a hot and tasty sandwich together with some french fries from KFC. Nevertheless, eating fast food in excess has some drastic downsides. Firstly, this eating habit can create some serious health issues, like obesity and diabetes. In 2023, Cambridge University discovered that over-utilization of fast food that contains high volume of sugar and fat, can hamper our brain’s performance, that may result in stroke. Secondly, this kind of cooking style is mainly based on freezing and frying the ingredients. Therefore, these meals lack essential nutrients like fiber, vitamins and minerals, that are abundant in fresh meat and vegetables. In summary, there is an ever-growing demand for fast food in many countries. While this convenience food helps us to save time and energy, it can create serious illnesses.