It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishments is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion ?

At their young age, the brain of children is more capable of remembering than adults anticipate. It is conventional that it is essential for them to learn and differentiate right and wrong, and that punishment should be accompanied to encourage their learning. Personally, the idea of teaching those along with punishment is agreeable, and the limit and means of punishment levels should be applied in order for adults to avoid being abusive. Firstly, there is a saying, “Spare the rod, spoil the child”, meaning that children should learn to behave and practice righteousness while growing; otherwise, they could grow up less productive. When they learn to stay and behave under control, they learn patience and tolerance to what surrounds them. This helps them realise and distinguish “ right ” from “wrong”. Also, when young, their brian’s capability expands as they grow. It is easy to cultivate good lessons into their memory, which later becomes their long term memory that shapes their life in the future. Nonetheless, the proper punishment should be practiced along with the teaching. The limit is there for adults who are mentoring children to give them the right sentence. For example, recently, the law has banned any sorts of child punishment in Thailand. This results in every child being protected by law so that they can live and stay safe from any physical injuries. This means only blasphemy should be considered a harsh approach to punish a child. Yet, there is no one specific punishment suitable for all. Adults must be noted that before giving a punishment, motives or any intentions should be involved in the process. This can help spare time for the right decision for the final sentence, or this could help children learn and regret what they have done to deserve any final results of an event, helping them to learn to identify right from wrong. In conclusion, it is accepted that punishment is needed for the process of teaching young people to learn what is right or wrong. Those children are capable of learning to become good citizens of the community where they are part of. Still, one fine punishment is rarely to be found. Nonetheless, adults in charge should find the appropriate one for them to learn and for adults themselves to avoid making the teaching become the other way around.